Home / High School Hockey / Union County: Summit still at top

Union County: Summit still at top

Summit (18-6-2)

Another consistent winner, Summit still has six players from its 2012 Public B championship team and will be the heavy favorite in Union County once again. Head coach Keith Nixon has three high-caliber goalies to choose from in sophomore Kyle McLaughlin, junior David Bonomo, and sophomore Alec Vitton. Up front, senior Riley Flynn (28-23-51) leads the way, but Chris Zanelli (14-16-30) was lost for the season due to a broken leg suffered during the football playoffs, which could mean increased roles for seniors Whit Cummings and Joe Jacobello, sophomore Owen McLaughlin, and freshman David Sharpe. Fourth-year starter Hunter Wyckoff leads the defense along with senior Justin Grange, junior Danny Kane, and sophomore Corey McManus.


Union County will split into divisions for the first time, with Westfield (14-5-3), Cranford (10-9-3) and Johnson (7-11-1) joining Summit in the top league. Scotch Plains-Fanwood (6-16-2), Dayton / Brearley (5-10-2), Governor Livingston (5-10-2), and the state’s only new varsity program, Oratory Prep competing in the lower division.

Jonathan Yardley
Jonathan Yardley has been covering high school ice hockey in New Jersey since 1996. A native of Morristown and a Delbarton alumnus, he graduated from Rice University in Houston, Texas in 2005. A radio and television broadcaster, he has called games for the 2003 NCAA championship Rice baseball team (2002-05), the 2011 Major League Soccer Eastern Conference champion Houston Dynamo (2008-11), and ESPN3 (2012-13), among other teams and outlets. He grew up watching hockey at Mennen Arena and for five seasons (1996-97 to 2000-01) wrote a weekly newsletter and ran the webpage for the MCSSIHL, the Morris County high school league. He now writes for Hockey Night in Boston in addition to website and blog maintenance.
Jonathan Yardley