State finalist Agawam tops final Western Mass. poll

Fran Sypek
Fran Sypek
Fran has covered hockey at all levels, NHL, AHL, junior, college and high school for the Springfield Republican from 1978-2013. His column "Hockey Talk'' appeared in the Sunday Republican. The hockey beat took him from Maine to Arizona in the United States and from Newfoundland to Alberta in Canada. Fran was the recipient of the Matthew Ryan Award for Outstanding Coverage of High School Hockey and the Janet McCormick Award from the Springfield Olympics. He then shifted from pros to college when the University of Massachusetts restored its program and joined Hockey East. Later, he continued covering the Boston Bruins and the Springfield Falcons. Fran's covered future NHL players from Western Massachusetts in Paul Fenton, Bob Kudelski, Rick Bennett and Bill Guerin. He is a member of the Bessone Award committee, which helps select the top high school hockey player in Western Mass. Fran was a goalie for Holyoke Community College in 1973-74 and graduated from the University of Massachusetts in 1977. Fran is currently a free lance writer living in Bondsville, Mass and grew up in Chicopee, Mass, has visited all 50 states, and is an avid photographer.

Related posts

ProEx Physical Therapy_Poll Header

Western Mass. Top 10 Poll

RankTeamPrevious RankingWLT
5Chicopee Comp.61364
8East Longmeadow88120
10Mount Everett101163

Agawam’s quest for its second state hockey crown in three years ended with a 2-1 loss to Watertown in the state Division Three final at TD Garden.

But what a three-year run it was for the Brownies. In 2013, the Brownies won the Division 3A state title. Last season, No. 1 Agawam was Sectional runner-up to Westfield, which it beat, 2-1 in this season’s final.

Seamus Curran Agawam
Seamus Curran

Agawam was led by offensive-minded defenseman Seamus Curran and forward Cam Rivest. Agawam did not lose to a Western Mass. team this season.

No. 2 Westfield defeated No. 4 Minnechaug, 5-2 in the quarterfinals. Chris Sullivan and goalie Garrett Matthews were among the Bombers, standouts.

Agawam blanked No. 4 Minnechaug in the quarterfinals.

Ben Wosky E. Longmeadow
Ben Wosky
E. Longmeadow

No. 5 Chicopee Comp won its first sectional title since 1986 following a 4-2 win over reigning champion Wahconah in the final. Jeremy Lewis and Cam Kagan accounted for 53 percent of the Colts’ goals.

Parker Nunes came up big in goal during the tournament. The Colts had only nine skaters when they lost to Nashoba, 4-2, in the state Division 3A title game.

No. 6 Chicopee was the top seed in the tournament, but lost, 6-5, to Wahconah in the semifinals. It was a repeat of the previous season’s sectional final.

One of the best stories in Western Mass. was No. 7 Amherst. The Hurricanes were off a five-win season, but made the playoffs and advanced to the semifinals under first-year coach Mike Rousseau.

No. 8 East Longmeadow got solid seasons from forward Ben Wosky and goalie Matt Gasperini, but failed to qualify for the tournament. No. 9 Belchertown lost to Wahconah, 2-0 and No. 10 Mt. Everett fell to Amherst, 3-0 in the quarterfinals. Mt. Everett went from one win to 11 this season.

- Sponsor -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -