Mass. HS Boys Hockey: Arlington Draws Top Seed For Inaugural 16-Team Ed Burns “Coffee Pot” Hockey Classic

Jim Clark
Jim Clark joined Hockey Night in Boston in December 2019, and has covered high school hockey in Massachusetts for more than three decades. He also covers high school hockey and is a multiplatform editor for the Boston Globe, and previously spent two decades as high school hockey reporter at the Boston Herald, where he also served as the high schools editor from 2000-06. Clark was honored by the Mass. State Hockey Coaches Association with its William Stewart Award for contributions to the sport in May 2019, and also received the Joel Perlmutter Award for media coverage in 2006. A graduate of UMass, he also spent eight years as sports editor/reporter at the Sentinel & Enterprise in Fitchburg, and has extensively covered high school hockey in Central and Western Mass. as well as Connecticut.

Related posts

It’s fitting that in the inaugural Ed Burns “Coffee Pot” Hockey Classic named after the legendary Arlington coach, the Spy Ponders have drawn the top seed.

Seedings and matchups were announced Thursday for the event, which features 16 public schools from Eastern Mass. The teams were pre-determined, given the need for each school to leave three dates open in their schedules.

A committee of participating coaches worked for much of the last year to develop the tournament concept, which is designed as a showcase event for MIAA high school hockey. Teams were seeded based on rankings according to two power ratings formulas – a modified version of college hockey’s KRACH model that includes game scores, and the new MIAA power ratings system modified to take only wins-losses-ties into consideration.

Once the rankings were established, teams were divided into two divisions of eight teams. The winners’ brackets are single-elimination, but each team is guaranteed three games.

Here are the seedings:

PETER DOHERTY DIVISION (named for longtime Reading coach)

  1. Arlington (11-1-1)
  2. Hingham (10-3-0)
  3. Braintree (8-2-1)
  4. Tewksbury (9-0-0)
  5. Waltham (6-2-2)
  6. Wellesley (7-1-2)
  7. Winchester (8-2-2)
  8. Marshfield (8-3-1)

WALTER BRINN DIVISION (named for longtime Waltham coach)

  1. Canton (9-2-1)
  2. Franklin (10-5-0)
  3. Reading (5-5-1)
  4. Natick (6-4-0)
  5. Walpole (5-4-0)
  6. Framingham (4-5-0)
  7. Weymouth (4-7-0)
  8. Burlington (2-8-1)

First-round schedule – Sunday, Jan 30:

(home teams listed first, in white)

At Ed Burns Arena, Arlington

Reading vs. Framingham, 12:00

Tewksbury vs. Waltham, 2:00

Arlington vs. Marshfield, 4:00

Hingham vs. Winchester, 6:00

At William Chase Arena, Natick

Canton vs. Burlington, 1:30

Braintree vs. Wellesley, 3:30

Natick vs. Walpole, 5:30

Franklin vs. Weymouth, 7:30

Second round – Sunday, Feb. 6

Four games each at Canton Ice House and Rodman Arena (Walpole), using both rinks in each venue

Third round – Sunday, Feb. 13

Games slated for Canton Ice House, John A. Ryan Skating Arena (Watertown) and O’Brien Rink (Woburn)

- Sponsor -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -