Mass. D-2 South Sectional Preview: Plymouth South nabs top seed

HNIB Staff
HNIB Staff
In 1972, two lifetime high school hockey fans started a weekly broadcast of Greater Boston high school games on WBOS-FM (92.9). The duo - Lance LoFaro and Darby Yaeger - called the nightly broadcasts "Hockey Night in Boston". As of late, HNIBnews - over 40 years running - has kept the scholastic hockey world on its feet with its widely-read website In addition to HNIBnews, Hockey Night in Boston runs, and also hosts summer tournaments showcasing the talents of scholastic hockey.

Related posts

A total of 18 teams qualified for the Mass. Division II South sectional bracket, including six teams that moved up from Division III after last season.


It should be a competitive field. Atlantic Coast League member Plymouth South earned the #1 seed. Two preliminary games: #18 Brookline vs. #15 Pembroke, and #17 Dedham vs. #16 Coyle Cassidy kick off the bracket tomorrow.


A quick look at the teams by seed.


1. Plymouth South (15-3-2)

This team has no superstars or high scorers. Coach Mike McCosh is getting production from just about everyone on the roster, which could be a key. Joey MacLeod has scored some key goals, and senior Dylan O’Connell has been solid in goal. Plymouth South has outscored its opponents 89-46 this season. They get the Dedham/Coyle Cassidy winner in the first round.


2. Westwood (15-4-1)

The Wolverines enjoyed their move up to Division II, resulting in yet another playoff appearance. Captain Ken Mackin propels the Westwood offense along with sophomore R.J. Messineo. Junior captains Joe Reissfelder and Jimmy Conway are solid two-way performers on the blue line in front of goalie Will Ribas.


3. Medfield (14-3-3)

Pat Lawler Medfield
Pat Lawler

The Warriors attack features four players with over 20 points including Pat Lawler (11-15-26), the sophomore duo of Matt Treiber (13-15-28) and John MacLean (9-15-24) and Jack Scannell 12-12-24). They will be tough to beat.


4. Medway (14-4-2)

This club has tasted success in Division III the past few years, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise if this teams goes far in the sectional bracket. Leading the way are Josh O’Toole (12-18-30), Cam Fisher (11-18-29) and Mike Boldy (11-11-22). Goalie Mike Purnell (1.09 gaa) has been tough to beat.


5. Canton (12-4-4)

The Bulldogs had a slow start to the season but turned things around in a hurry, to the point where many consider them the favorite to emerge from the South.  Sophomore Matt Lazaro (21-15-36) powers the offense, along with Ben Lodge (13-17-30) and John Femia (5-19-24). Anthony Francescon  (3-10-13) has been a key blueliner while Justin Slocum (1.74 gaa) has emerged between the pipes.


6. Martha’s Vineyard (13-5-2)

The Vineyarders can score, as they averaged over five goals a game, so they have the potential. Senior Tyson Araujo (22-47-69) is a

Emerson Mahoney Martha's Vineyard
Emerson Mahoney
Martha’s Vineyard

big-time point producer, as is fellow senior Brian Fraser (31-17-48). Andrew Wiley (20 pts) and Emerson Mahoney (19 pts) chipped in as well.


7. Milford (12-6-2)

Former CMass entry Milford makes its D-2 tourney debut, drawing a first round game against Oliver Ames. Scoring for the Scarlet Hawks have been senior Brad White (25-16-41), senior Jared Balzerini (14-23-37) and junior Drew Wilde (20-15-35). Defenseman Sam Croteau (5-13-18) can get involved with the play.


8. Bishop Feehan (12-7-1)

The Shamrocks had a nice season in the EAC and will be led by the likes of Jack Hanson (12-14-26), Mike Geraghty (12-7-19) and Jake D’Ercole (12-7-19).


9. North Quincy (9-7-4)

This club will rely on its defensive style of game to be successful. Scoring is needed from John Ross McEvilly (5-1-16), Robert Cameron (8-7-15), Tim Glynn (8-5-13) and Brendan Cox (6-7-13).


10. Oliver Ames (10-8-2)

The Tigers dropped their final four games of the regular season, scoring only one goal in the four games, so that could be a concern. Taylor Provost (14-15-29) and Matt Campanella (11-10-21) will need to put the puck in the net. Junior goalie Jimmy Tierney has played every minute of every game this season.


11. Sandwich (8-9-3)

The Blue Knights draw Martha’s Vineyard in the opening round. They were shut out in their last two outings. Offense is expected to come from Jonny Cassista (9-21-30), Alex Cabana (12-15-27) and Max Kent (18-6-24).


12. Scituate (9-8-2)

Josh Beck Scituate
Josh Beck

The Sailors also moved up from Division III this season. Senior Josh Beck is a key forward on the club.


13. North Attleboro (10-9-1)

Sean Young (19-19-38) and Marshall Blackman (13-11-24) have been the offensive stalwarts for N/A. Senior Matt Raposo looks to be the man between the pipes.

Sean Young North Attleboro
Sean Young
North Attleboro


14. Quincy (9-9-2)

The Presidents just barely qualified with the mininum 20 points.  They will look to Pat Freeman (17-13-30), Brian O”Callaghan (13-15-28) and Pat Donovan (16-11-27) to get things moving.


Pat Freeman Quincy
Pat Freeman

15. Pembroke (10-10-2)

The Titans will look to junior forward Adam Tripp (18-10-28) and senior goalie Jackson Wainwright to get them into the first round.


16. Coyle Cassidy (7-11-2)

Despite, their below .500 record, Coyle-Cassidy get into the field as the Eastern Athletic Conference co-champion with Martha’s Vineyard.


17. Dedham (5-14-1)

Member of  all D-1 Bay Stage Herget Division, the Marauders qualify thanks to the Sullivan rule. Junior Ronnie Pucci (11-13-24) and sophomore Brian Bilafer (6-11-17) have been the top 2 scorers.


18. Brookline (4-15-2)

The same holds true for Brookline, a member of the Bay State’s Carey Division.



- Sponsor -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -