Boys Prep Roundup: Undefeated Millbrook win Brooks/Pingree Tournament

Gary Demopoulos
Gary Demopoulos
Gary Demopoulos has been covering prep school hockey for the HNIB News for over 30 years, and has been the editor of the HNIB News since 2005. A former sportswriter and news editor at the Woburn (MA) Daily Times Chronicle, he has been the HNIB News' key reporter for Mens Prep School hockey since 1988, as well as womens hockey, both at the prep school and high school levels. for almost 20 years. Gary also helps organize and oversee HNIB's many summer tournaments and festivals for scholastic players.

Related posts

Millbrook School has gotten off to a fast start this season, remaining unbeaten through eight games at 6-0-2. Included in that run is a title at the Brooks/Pingree Tournament.

There, the Mustangs advanced to the finals after tying New Hampton (1-1) and picking up wins over Brooks (3-1) and Brunswick (3-2). In the final, Millbrook defeated Hebron, 5-1.

Kevin Drevitch

Zach Taylor paced the attack with two goals and an assist. The Mustangs also got goals from Greg Koutsomitis, Sam Asman and Simon Boisvert. Richard Pichura had two assists and Greg Brassard made 15 saves.

In an exciting match with Brunswick, the Millbrook prevailed when Kevin Drevitch scored on a penalty shot in the final minute of regulation. Pichura and Jake Gagnon also had goals.

Taylor, Asman and Owen Kelley scored in the win over Brooks.

“Up front, a different line stepped up each game and got it done,” said Millbrook coach Vinnie Sorriento. “We didn’t rely on one line. Instead, all four lines contributed. I also thought our D were very good all weekend – their mobility and poise with the puck was excellent.”

Millbrook is now 6-0-2 and will play in the Nichols/Belmont Hill Tournament in Buffalo December 28-30. Has the fast start been surprising?

“Yes and no,” Sorriento said. “We knew we had some talent and some depth, but we didn’t know how long it would take for this group to gel because we have so many new guys on this year’s team. Our depth has been key. We don’t rely on one or two guys. Everyone has contributed and bought into their role on the team. Also, all goaltending has been rock-solid. We’ve been splitting time in nets between Greg Brassard and Cam Fernandez and both have been very good.”

At the Flood Marr Tournament, Deerfield ended up as champions, beating co-host Milton Academy 4-3 to win the school’s first championship since 2002.

Chris Camelio

The Big Green went 2-1 in pool play, beating co-host Nobles (3-2 in OT) and then stunning previously unbeaten Kimball Union, 1-0, before falling to Salisbury, 6-3.

In the final, Deerfield grabbed a 1-0 lead after one period thanks to a Chad Haggerty  goal, and extended that lead to 3-0 in the second period on strikes from Mike Holland and Thomas Dale.

Milton closed to 3-2 after two periods before Chris Camelio would score in the think period for Deerfield.

Big Green sophomore goalie Thomas Gale made 29 saves and earned the Flood Marr Tournament MVP Award.

Kyle DelMaestro

– Tilton cruised to a 9-1 victory over Brooks. Andrew Nadeau and Larry Niland each scored two goals for the Rams, while Gerard Marretta had a goal and three assists and Brendan Sjostedt a goal and assist.

– Goals from Andrew Ranaldi, Adam Usinger and Kyle DelMaestro powered Kent to a 3-1 win over Tabor at the Avon Old Farms Christmas Classic.

Devan Tongue

Devan Tongue and Mike Kennedy each had two goals as Northfield defeated Lawrenceville, 6-2

– Nobles downed Salisbury, 4-1 at Flood Marr thanks to a pair of goals from Will Zink and single tallies from Jack Cronin and Jerry Harding.

– Avon Old Farms tooks it won Christmas Classic Tournament, edging previously unbeaten Loomis Chafee, 2-1, in the championship game. Nick Wildgoose notched the game-winner with three minutes left in regulation. Matt Kirwan also had a goal for the Winged Beavers.

Alex Gagnon

Chase McInnis had a pair of goals and Jack Nisbet the other in Dexter’s 3-1 win over Groton at the Lawrence/Groton Tournament.

–  Greg McGunigle scored twice and Alex Gagnon, Harley Michaels and Jonathan Courchesne all had one as Holderness defeated Cushing, 5-3, at the Lawrence/Groton Tournament

– Taft got goals from Jordan Tonelli, Ryan Colwell, Finn Walker and Matteo Mangiardi in a 4-0 shutout win over Canterbury at the Lawrenceville Tournament. Taft won the tournament, beating Nichols School 6-3 in the title game. Goalie Andrew Farrier was named tourney MVP.

- Sponsor -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -
- Sponsor -